top of page

Championship leader Briscoe fastest in practice at Springfield; starts from pole

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (August 21, 2016) - Chase Briscoe went out early and often on the Springfield mile dirt during the one-hour practice session Sunday at the Illinois State Fairgrounds; but it was the early start that helped ensure the Mitchell, Indiana rookie would be on the pole for this afternoon's 54th running of the Central Illinois 100 presented by Jive.

Briscoe, in the No. 77 Big Tine Ford, got out early when the track was tackiest and, as a result, fastest. Briscoe, in his first stock car start on dirt, circled the historic Springfield Mile Dirt in 34.338 seconds for an average speed of 104.840 mph.

Qualifying was canceled because of a saturated infield that backed up the day's activities. Consequently, the starting field was set by practice speeds, putting the current point leader on the pole for this afternoon's race, live on ASN at 2:30 p.m. Eastern.

Will Kimmel, in the No. 69 E3 Spark Plugs Ford, was first out, which helped the Sellersburg, Indiana driver to land the outside front row starting position.

Newcomer Jake Griffin, in a Venturini Motorsports Toyota, will start third in his career-first ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards attempt.

Local Springfield favorite Kelly Kovski will start fourth with rookie Tanner Thorson completing the top-five. Thorson is also making his career-first ARCA start here this afternoon.

A look at some of the Springfield Championship Stock Car Winners: Curtis Turner (’63), Don White (’66, ’67, ’72), Al Unser (’72), Jack Bowsher (’73), Roger McCluskey (’74), Ramo Stott (’76, ’77, ’80), AJ Foyt (’79), Joe Ruttman (’80), Dean Roper (’81, ’82, ’83, ’83, ’85, ’86), Bob Keselowski (’87, ’88, ’89, ’93), Bobby Bowsher (’91, ’92), Tim Steele (‘96, ’97), Ken Schrader (’98), Bill Baird (’99, ’04), Justin Allgaier (’06), Parker Kligerman (’09), Frank Kimmel (’00, ’01, ’02. ’03, ’05, ’07, ’08, ‘12), Kevin Swindell ('14) and AJ Fike ('15).

Live on American Sports Network

The 100 will be live on the American Sports Network and will also stream live at will feature live timing and scoring and live chat of all on-track activity and a live chat box throughout the afternoon.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page